User: not logged in Language: Ελληνικά English

The Export Licensing Section is responsible, together with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the formulation and implementation of the policy for the regulation of exports of arms, military equipment and dual use items, in the framework of the commitment of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus to contribute effectively to the accomplishment and maintenance of international peace and security.

In this framework Cyprus has become a member of the following export control regimes:

Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) – since April 2000 Australia Group (AG) - since September 2000

Furthermore, Cyprus has applied for membership to the following regimes:

Missile Technology Control Regime (MTCR) – July 2003 Wassenaar Arrangement (WA) – August 2003

Cyprus is also a signatory to the Biological Weapons Convention, the Chemical Weapons Convention, as well as other relevant international treaties. Moreover, Cyprus is a member of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW).

Cyprus as a member of the European Union, the United Nations and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) implements the policies and measures adopted by these organizations.

For the implementation of the adopted export control policy various legislations have been issued, which provide for the requirement to issue an export licence for the export, re-export, transit and transhipment of the controlled goods.

For more information please visit the website of the Trade Service at: